Coigach Lines

Tenant Genealogy of Coigach Crofts, Scotland, 1800-1900

(SDD92) Maclean 166 (Achduart) Maclean 165a

Posted by alibaster on January 31, 2010

9 Responses to “(SDD92) Maclean 166 (Achduart) Maclean 165a”

  1. Grace Maclean said

    Kenneth Maclean 166, think his DoB might be 1797 as he is 45 in 1841 census and 58 or 59 when he died in 1855. also agree John and Allen continued at Achduart but they had an older brother Murdoch who was 38 when his father Kenneth died in 1855, John was 35 and Allen 33 not at all sure about the Murdo b 1827. My Grand Father was Alexander 3rd son of John and Mary he moved to Glasgow round about 1900 and married and had 5 children 3 survived to adults. Thank you, your website has been a gold mine really helped me as I’m very new to family research

    • lyndsay said

      Hi, My 4 x great grandfather was Kenneth Maclean of croft 166, have you managed to get any further back than his parents? I’m kinda struggling to find much on them myself, Murdo b 1827 was my 3x great grandfather and my 2 x great grandparents were alexander (not alan) and Helen denoon 🙂 if you want any more info on them don’t be scared to drop me a line. I have b, d, m and census for alexander, murdo and Kenneth if you want me to send you a copy.

      • alibaster said

        sorry but I have long since stopped research on the Macleans unless I receive anything by way of comment Alibaster

      • Grace Ormiston nee Maclean said

        Hullo Lyndsay back in UK so have looked at some of the records I have, but I am slightly confused. Can you have a look at Kenneth’s death cert dated 29 May 1855 there are 8 children (6 living) listed.
        there is Murdoch eldest son aged 38 when Kenneth died and then John (my Great Grandfather) then Allan (both of them remained at Achduart). Annabelle, two daughters died in childhood and then Christina and Alexander. There is NO Murdo and that was what I was trying to say to Alibaster when I first wrote in 2012. Could Murdoch and Murdo be same son and DOB wrong it would be 1817 and NOT 1827. Murdoch also appears on the 1841 census aged 20 but so is John and we know from the death certificate there is 3 years between them. Sometimes the hand writing is a wee bit difficult and of course there are so many of the same Christian names and different spellings of surnames! Anyway sorry if I have just made your GG3 10 years older all other details can remain (joke). Back to Kenneth only found what Alibaster says he was born at Inverpolly ands Father was John and Mother Christina Mcleod nee Robertson (so she had been married before she married John). Not sure where you are in the world ( I live in Scottish Borders) and my sister and I were in Coigach for a few days couple of years ago. To be honest not sure where we’d find any more info as I think the parish registers might be few and far between,we found the graveyard at Badinscally found our Grandfather’s Aunt’s grave (his mother’s brother’s wife) he must have been very fond of her as he named one of his daughters after her, her first name was Winewood, however, my Father’s sister died as a baby. Enough rambling, sorry I have not helped more. I will look again and what church records there might be but the nearest church looks like Achiltibuie which is/was 4 miles walking so they might just have had services in each others homes? Please if I have got it all wrong with my Murdos and Murdochs please let me know and get back to me if you find out anything more. Best Wishes Grace Ormiston

      • alibaster said

        Greetings Grace and Hullo again Lyndsay For your Winewood (unique in Coigach) see SDD61 line16 and SDD54 line 12 in the Blog diagrams. regards Alibaster (in New South Wales)

      • alibaster said

        re Winewood, SDD61 is a Matheson and 54 a Macleod – both only legible – Alibaster

  2. Lyndsay cowgill said

    I’M struggling to make sense of this (I’m not that bright) I can see my aunt Abigail in this but I can’t make sense of it. I was told by her niece that Abigail’s father was Alexander McLean and his father was Murdoch.I’m desperately trying to trace the McLean line as far back as i can. any help would be appreciated.

    • alibaster said

      I have Abigail b 25/2/1870 Morfield to Murdo and Mart Campbell

    • alibaster said

      Christine Macleam , previously Macleod, born Robertson, from his death 0n 28/5/1855 .{also please correct my last Mart to Mary} – Alaibaster

Leave a Reply

 
